I am Moses.

Moses and I have a lot in common. Moses and I struggled with many of the same things. Insignificance. Insecurity. Insufficiency. Inadequacy. And yet look at how God used Moses.

Moses made excuses because he felt inadequate for the job God asked him to do. It was natural for him to feel that way. He was inadequate all by himself. Just like me.

Moses couldn’t do much until he was replaced with “God with Moses”.

Shanda (that’s me) is utterly inadequate until she is replaced by Christ in Shanda.

Nothing good lives in me apart from Christ in me.

But Christ in me affords the chance to be bold, take risks, do things that are way beyond my imaginings and comfort level.

That’s not to say that I don’t sometimes let Shanda get in the way of Christ in Shanda. I do. In fact, here some’s proof. I wrote this in church one Sunday in response to God speaking to me through His word and His messenger.

imageimage

If there’s one thing I’ve learned to do well in my walk with HIM, it’s to be honest and transparent. Authentic. So if I’m scared, I’m gonna tell HIM. If I’m mad, I’m gonna tell HIM that too. After all, He knows it already. Why not just acknowledge it instead of trying to hide my face from HIM?

Sometimes, pretending gets really old, ya know?  So let’s get real with God and others, especially those we know and trust.  Let’s be who we are without the masks, shall we?

When you think on the statement “Nothing good lives in me apart from Christ in me.”, what feelings or thoughts do you have? I would love to chat with you about it.  Feel free to comment, email, track me down on social media, send me telegram…whatever works!

Leave a Reply

