Embracing  Imperfection

I don’t know about you, but I want everything to be perfect. 

I want my house to look like one you would see in a darling little neighborhood  in Waco, Texas.

I want my kids to have adorable matching ensembles for Easter so that I can capture that perfect candid shot before we all happily make our way to the Easter Sunday service. Early. (Never mind that they’re 18 and 15 years old. I still want them in pastels I picked up at Gymboree. Let me dream, okay?)

I want to create meals from scratch with all organic ingredients that were gathered at my local farmer’s market.

But…that is not my life. 

My life looks like three loads of unfolded laundry covering my lovely new love seat. 

  
My life is pizza delivered and Sonic happy hour 99 cent corn dogs. 

My life is opening a cute little Easter banner purchased at Target and finding this. 

  
Life is not perfect. For anyone. But we each get to decide what we will do, how we will react when we are faced with all those pesky imperfections. 

I’ve decided to be like Max. My puppy embraces the imperfect. In fact, he revels in it. 

  
What if, instead of constantly trying harder, we choose to accept and even embrace the imperfections of our lives? What if we gave ourselves some grace? What if we decided that “Happa Easter” is really quite funny, especially when your 15 year old adopts it as his new holiday greeting and sounds much like a mobster when he says it?

Sometimes joy can’t be found until we let go of something. For me, it’s the striving and straining, the constant need for perfection from myself and those closest to me. 

So this day, I resolve to let go of the things that don’t matter. I choose to embrace the imperfections. I choose to count it all joy. 

Let this be my prayer, my goal in this, to:

“Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you at all sides.” James 1:2 MSG

Linked up as a part of #tellhisstory

3 thoughts on “Embracing  Imperfection

Leave a Reply

