Obeying Your Calling 

  God has put a passion in each of our hearts for something. Often I’ve found that in different seasons of life He brings different passions to the forefront. 

  • Some of you are passion about your calling to be a wife and mother that honors God in this role. 
  • Some of you are passionate about missions. 
  • Some of you are passionate about Netflix (just kidding…but I’m pointing at you, daughter!)
  • Some of you are passionate about health and fitness…glorifying God with the temple He’s entrusted to you. 

God has put many passions in me. 

But often, I pushed down passions that seemed too scary or too hard for the season that I   am in. 

One of those has been writing.  At an early age (middle school I think), I began to feel the tug to write. I would write poems and stories in my diary daily. They were silly and full of romantic musings, but I loved it. I never shared those with ANYONE. It felt too vulnerable. What if they didn’t like it? What if they rolled their eyes or made fun of me and my efforts? 

So I pushed down the passion. 

As a young single mom, the passion resurfaced in the form of blogging. It felt safer for some reason. I was older and a bit wiser. I developed a sort of community with other bloggers, and it felt good to have a place (albeit a tiny one) out the in wide world of the Internet. 

But as it goes with me often, consistency did not prevail. Life got busy. I went back to school to follow another passion and felt it was necessary to press pause on my desire to write and blog. 

Now, here I am nearing 40, and God has been tugging at my heart to return to the long-held passion…this calling He has put in my heart to write my story. 

As I have prayed through this, I believe that scope is larger than blogging. I believe He has put a book in my heart. I know I am meant to write my story/stories. At the If Gathering last weekend, I felt that calling resurface again.  I am meant to write and share my story. What the audience will be is really up to Him. But I am following Him in obedience. 

I have registered to attend the She Speaks conference hosted by the Proverbs 31 ministries this summer. I am investing in this dream. I am making a commitment to a specific number of hours and words I will spend writing each week. I am also committing to being vulnerable with others about this. It is frightening to share something like this.  What if I fail? What if it’s not good enough?  What if no one wants to read it?  These are the thoughts that run through my head…the thoughts that need squashing. 

Ultimately, it all comes down to obedience to the calling He has placed in me. Being obedient is not contingent on an end result of success.  Therefore, I will write…if only for an Audience of One. 

Pray for me as I embark on this journey….will you?
What passion has He put in your heart?  I would love to hear more in the comments, or, if you prefer, you can email me…I would love to pray for you. 

3 thoughts on “Obeying Your Calling 

  1. Angela Pridgen says:

    Shanda, you are one precious woman and I believe your story/stories would be read. You have a wealth of knowledge that should be shared. As for me, I KNOW He has called me to missions. I have felt it in my core being since I was about 15. I allowed life to hold me back. I don’t know what that looks like at this point but I do know it is what I am called to do. So pray that He continues to reveal to me His plan.

    Love you sweet friend!

  2. Susie says:

    I love reading your blog. I will be praying for you to be scary honest and vulnerable. Your story will touch someone else and collide with theirs. That is the beauty of His plan.

  3. Loved this! And excited for you to attend She Speaks! I chickened out! Next year… It’s alright on my calendar to look for registration dates!! Enjoy it! Your blog is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

