Heavy. 

It almost always happens at night.  For me at least.

I can feel great all the live long day, and as sure as the sun sets, that feeling comes.

Not every day. Not every week.  But it comes…often when I least expect it.

My heart feels heavy.  Why…you might ask.

For nothing and everything all at the same time.  

Maybe I’m heavy because the future of this great nation is on what feels like shaky ground.

Maybe I’m heavy because my words to my teenagers were unkind.

Maybe I’m heavy because I’ve lost sight of the vision, the dream, the mission. 

Maybe I’m heavy because I see people all around me who are HURTING. In a big way.  

Maybe I’m heavy because I don’t know what the future holds and that scares me.

Maybe I’m heavy because I say with my lips that I trust God, but my heart tells a different story.

In those hard moments, I have choices.

1. I can pretend it away.  I can put on a happy face, and get on with it.

2. I can medicate.  While others use drugs or alcohol,  I use Netflix, Hulu, and social media to numb the pain of my heavy heart.

3.  I can get honest…with those around me, but most importantly, with God.  I can give Him my heavy heart.  I can choose to sit in the pain of it all, and allow Him to work in and through it.  

For when you are hurting and nursing a heavy heart (for whatever the reason):

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.” ‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5:6-7‬ ‭ESV‬‬

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”  Psalm‬ ‭34:18‬ ‭NIV‬‬


  

Leave a Reply

