I will not plug my ears, close my eyes, and sing “Jesus Loves Me”.

Sometimes, I go to the movies.  I love movies, and I especially love to make it in time for the previews.  But, every so often, a preview comes along that is completely inappropriate, and, if given the opportunity to invade my brain, will leave me with nightmares for weeks.  So I plug my ears, close my eyes, and sing “Jesus Loves Me”.  Quietly, of course.  My daughter does the exact same thing.  But she’s more liberal with this policy…in fact, she used to do it every time a commercial for LOST would come on.  She is easily scared.  It’s a smart plan, if it’s something that I don’t want to have invade my mind and imprinted on my heart.

 

But lately, I’ve been smacked over the head with some truth.

 

I do this with reality, too.  A bit of news flashes on my TV screen that makes me uncomfortable, I flip the channel.  I skim over news on my phone that is sad.  Because the needs of others in this world seem so overwhelming, I choose sometimes to plug my ears, close my eyes, and sing “Jesus Loves Me”.

 

But wait.  Doesn’t Jesus love them, too?  If we believe what the Bible says is truly true, He loves.  Not just the people we love either. Jesus loves the orphans dying for lack of medical treatment.   Jesus loves the sex trafficked 12 year old.  Jesus loves her pimp.

 

Uh oh.  Did I just go there?  Yes, I did.  It’s painful to hear it.  It’s horrifying, really.  But it’s the reality.  It’s happening right under our noses.  But I’m guessing most of you are like me.  You plug your ears, you close your eyes, and sing about how Jesus loves you.  Because it’s painful.  It’s beyond uncomfortable.  It makes you squirm in your seat with a sickness in your belly.  It’s overwhelming.  It’s not something we want to see.

 

But if we never acknowledge it, it will NEVER stop.   We are HIS hands and feet.  We are the way He chooses to show LOVE to the world.  He came and made MUCH of us, so that we could MAKE MUCH of HIM in this world.  It’s not just about getting into heaven.  It’s about a living, amazing relationship with HIM that spills out on this world.

 

So I’m done.  No more plugging my ears, closing my eyes, and singing about how He loves me.  At the exclusion of the hurting and dying masses.

 

I’m praying fervently that God will continue to break my heart into a million little pieces.  That He will pour out His love and provision for the nations.   And that He’ll use me as His funnel to do that very thing.

 

I’m praying the exact same thing for you, too.

Here am I, Lord.

Originally published 1/28/11

 

Leave a Reply

