Counting Gifts

 

Oftentimes, I am prone to wander from the truth.

The truth that this life I live; it is a gift.

A gift I often take for granted.

A gift for which I often feel a sense of entitlement.

Instead of treasuring this gift, I often squander it.

I am oftentimes numb.

Asleep.

In a world of gifts given.

 

Today I am remind that this life is full of gifts.

That this life itself is a gift.

 

Juliet reminds me of that.

She is most thankful for life.

That she is still alive.

 

Counting gifts…

I count the first.

That both I and my dear Juliet will breathe the deep sweet breath given freely from a God who loves us deeply and sweetly.

 

Originally published 2/1/11

Leave a Reply

